Frequently Asked Questions about our All Natural Black Licorice

Sugar Beets - All Natural

As with any product, there are certain questions that pop-up time and time again. We've tried to compile both the questions and their answers on this page for your convenience.

Is Chateau D'Lanz Swiss Licorice Really Gluten Free?
Yes, Chateau D' Lanz Swiss Licorice is gluten free. We do not use any wheat flour in our product. The body of our black licorice is made primarily of gum arabic/acacia, cut with cassava root (tapioca). We use gum arabic because it acts as an emulsifier, allowing us to smoothly blend our ingredients and result in a hard, smooth texture which carries the flavor of the licorice evenly throughout the entire piece of candy. We blend the gum arabic/acacia with tapioca, which has become a frequently used substitute in many gluten free products.

Why do you use Corn Syrup?
There are actually several types of corn syrup for use in food products. The most commonly known (high-fructose corn syrup) has a reputation for being particularly bad for people. We do NOT use high fructose corn syrup in our black licorice. Instead, we use a LOW fructose corn syrup. What we use isn't even sweet- it has a bland flavor. We use it, not to sweeten the licorice, but, instead, to prevent the beet sugar from crystalizing during the cooking process.